Skip to main content Skip to navigation
ADARP Alcohol and Drug Abuse Research Program

Research Faculty

Austin, Erica – Department of Communications. The interplay of children’s social development, media and parents in children’s decision making about substance abuse, particularly alcohol. Development of media literacy prevention programs for use by children and parents, geared to children as young as third grade.
eaustin@wsu.edu

Craft, Rebecca – Department of Psychology. Analgesic, discriminative, and reinforcing properties of abused drugs; sex differences in drug effects. This line of investigation is designed to understand both the therapeutic and addictive properties of morphine-like drugs, especially with regard to male-female differences.
craft@wsunix.wsu.edu

Dyck, Dennis – Department of Psychology. Alcohol dependence and substance abuse in persons with serious mental illness.
dyck@wsu.edu

Fuchs Lokensgard – Integrative Physiology and Neuroscience. Research in my laboratory explores the neurobiology of drug-related associative learning and memory, drug context-induced impulsivity, and environmentally-triggered drug relapse.
ritafuchs@vetmed.wsu.edu

Hill, Herbert – Department of Chemistry. Drug Detection. Analytical chemistry and instrument development, chromatography, ion mobility spectrometry.
hhhill@wsu.edu

Jansen, Heiko – Integrative Physiology and Neuroscience. Understanding biological rhythmicity. Specifically, how long-term (annual) reproductive rhythms are generated and what role daily (circadian) rhythms play in drug addiction relapse.
heiko@vetmed.wsu.edu

Lutze, Faith – Criminal Justice Program, Department of Political Science. Drug courts and their effectiveness in increasing sobriety and reducing recidivism for adult felons, juvenile delinquents, and for parents whose children have become dependent on the state.
lutze@wsu.edu

Meadows, Gary – Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. The research in this laboratory explores the toxic effects of alcohol on immune function.
meadows@mail.wsu.edu

Morgan, Mike – Department of Psychology (Vancouver). Neural basis of pain modulation and morphine tolerance.
morgan@vancouver.wsu.edu

Mosher, Clayton – Department of Sociology (Vancouver). Drug policies; correlates and theories of drug use; drug use prevention and treatment.
mosher@vancouver.wsu.edu

Quock, Raymond – Department of Psychology. Our research focus has been on the pharmacology of medical gases. In previous research, we have been characterizing the mechanisms of analgesic and anxiolytic effects of the inhalant drug of abuse nitrous oxide (N20 or laughing gas). More recently, we have been studying the mechanism of hyperbaric oxygen (HBO2) in the suppression of neuropathic pain.
QuockR@wsu.edu

Rotolo, Thomas – Department of Sociology. Statistics/methodology, substance abuse, voluntary associations and organizations.
Rotolo@wsu.edu

Schwartz, Jennifer – Department of Sociology. Research tracks changes over time and group differences in alcohol and drug use, social and legal consequences, and correlates of substance abuse. Areas of emphasis include studies of women and adolescents, drunk driving, alcohol and violence, and comparative research methods.
schwartj@wsu.edu

Sorg, Barbara – Integrative Physiology and Neuroscience. Effects of stress and cocaine on brain dopamine systems. This research is designed to determine how stress facilitates the biological effects of cocaine.
barbsorg@vetmed.wsu.edu

Walker, Brendan – Department of Psychology. Neurobiology of Motivation, Alcohol and Drug Abuse, Negative Affect, Adolescent Alcohol and Drug Abuse, Physiological Psychology, Psychopharmacology, Behavioral Pharmacology.
b_walker@wsu.edu

Wood, Darryl – Departments of Criminal Justice, Public Affairs, and Liberal Arts, WSU Vancouver. Alcohol and Drug Use, Criminal Behavior, and the Criminal Justice System.
darrylwood@vancouver.wsu.edu

 

Substance Abuse Research Programs

The ADA Program is not a department on campus and does not make faculty appointments. Faculty associated with the program reside in departments across the WSU campus and are united by a common interest in the biological and sociological mechanisms of substance abuse. Research programs range from examining abuse patterns in Washington State to determining changes in gene expression following cocaine or alcohol administration to experimental animals.